Ballistas and Bears

I have finally finished my werebear units from Microworld.

werebearclose1 werebeargroup2JPG werebeargroup1 werebearclosegroup1I really like these guys.   I love that they are all roaring, and the size of them is just right.  I decided to paint them a little Fozzie the bear style, which i think looks great at this scale.  I actually finished most of them quite a while back, but realized there were a few I missed, so held off basing them until all were finished.

At the moment I only have the group that came with the original woodland army pack I purchased, but there will be more as soon as the lead pile is lowered a bit.  Ive looked at my army so far, and I am sorely lacking infantry still, even with these guys and all the Gnolls I have.    Steve has indicated new wood elf models are coming soon, so that may change things.

Next up are some of Microworld’s Anklyo Ballista.  I mentioned how much I liked anklyosaurs, so its not surprise I love these models too! 😀

yellowballista ballistagroupside ballistagroup1I was not so happy with my painting unfortunately.  Initially my idea what to put some more color in the army.  Green lizardmen, green dinosaur guys, green green green.  So I went with some different colors; red, yellow, and purple in this case.  The yellow and purple look ok individually, while the red guys are way too bright.  As a group they just look a bit weird.

I had different idea initially on how to set these guys up, but as I assume I’ll be getting more down the road for the moment I just glued the ballistas (Ballisti?) on and based them individually on 40x20mm bases.  Down the road I envision magnetizing them, as I see no reason you couldn’t swap out any of the other lizardmen drop ons (i.e. the howdahs and king/sorcerer on a chair guy).  I could see some cool diorama style bases being made as well.  Incidently, other than the general, and two guys on top of the brachiosaur, all the dino models so far have the lizardman parts molded seperately, I can envision many different both fantasy and sci fi conversion possibilities.

Still have the ceratospids being worked on, I’m probably about 1/2 done on those, while space hulk is still just starting…  Hopefully it wont be too very long before I post again.

 

I will finish with posting a little ebony and ivory action.   Please imagine the photograph (again all done by my fantastic girlfriend) appropriately.  /cue music

ebonyivory

Leave a comment